The Viennese industrialist Paul Khuner commissioned Adolf Loos to build a country house. It was completed in 1930, and is a late work by the architect who has since attained worldwide fame.

Hanna Sehn and Norbert Steiner’s grandmother, Ilse Wurdack, bought the Looshaus in 1959. She restored it and turned it into a hotel and restaurant. The family have owned it ever since.

DO NOT BUILD IN A PICTURESQUE MANNER. LEAVE SUCH EFFECTS TO THE WALLS, THE MOUNTAINS AND THE SUN.(Adolf Loos – 1913)

Growing interest in the architecture of Adolf Loos led to a fresh appreciation of the uniqueness of the building’s architecture. The Steiner-Sehn siblings have removed the alterations made to the house and restored it to its original form, which they take pains to maintain.

The Looshaus has been a listed building since 1963.

Looshaus chronicle »

Restaurant open daily 11:30 a.m. – 8:30 p.m.
in July and August. Closed on Weds from September – June
 © looshaus.at  © looshaus.at  © looshaus.at  © looshaus.at  © looshaus.at  © looshaus.at  © looshaus.at  © looshaus.at
Ihr Browser ist veraltet!

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser, um diese Website korrekt darzustellen. Den Browser jetzt aktualisieren

×